RSS

GasBuddy: a must-have app for road trips

22 Mar

I don’t generally go out of my way to recommend apps, but when it comes to road travel, there’s one that’s indispensable to saving money: GasBuddy.

When you’re on the road, the app is great for finding the cheapest close gas station. Stations right along the freeway can have a markup of up to 30 cents. In the past, rather than driving around not knowing where I was going, I would just find the nearest Arco or other discount station, and live with it. More often than not, I’d drive for about two miles and pass a significantly cheaper station. In total, this would probably lead to me paying 10-20% more on gas than I needed to.

Those days are over. Now I can find the best gas station along my entire route and plan accordingly. Furthermore, I can try to get one which will allow me to use my credit card (most of the time they’ll state whether price is cash or not) and save me another 3-5% depending on which gas-friendly card I use.

The website is also great because it shows whether prices are falling or rising. During the week, I’ll wait or hurry to get gas based on their local predictions, which are usually pretty accurate.

Road travel ain’t cheap anymore—but this is one simple way to make it more affordable.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 22, 2015 in California, Cars, Economics, Travel

 

Tags:

One response to “GasBuddy: a must-have app for road trips

  1. Suzanne

    June 28, 2017 at 1:47 pm

    Skype has opened up its internet-structured consumer beta towards the entire world, following establishing it broadly from
    the United states and You.K. before this 30 days.
    Skype for Internet also now can handle Linux and Chromebook for immediate online messaging
    connection (no video and voice nevertheless, individuals require a plug-in installment).

    The expansion from the beta brings assist for a longer
    list of spoken languages to help you bolster that
    international user friendliness

     

Leave a comment