RSS

RE: Things you’ll never hear San Franciscans say

14 May

Funny article up at The Bold Italic.

Some notable things you’ll never hear an SF’an say (in and round town):

Fernet? Meh.

I just get such good vibes from the Marina.

I love hanging out at Fisherman’s Wharf to get the real San Francisco experience.

Heh. I think it’s a given that you have to at least shown an appreciation for Fernet, even if it tastes worse than Jaegermeister. As for the Marina, all I ever hear about is how “fratty” it is, but I’ve never really gone to a bar there, so I pretty much just assume it’s true. The last time I went to Fisherman’s Wharf was when I was working for the SF Water Department and had to test the ocean water nearby.

Some other notables:

I’m sure the bus is late for a good reason. I’m happy to wait.

Google is using technology to make the world a better place.

I don’t care if you call it Frisco or San Fran, it’s all good.

MUNI=slow (but improving, I must contend); GOOGLE=bad (but we all still love their products); people who say FRISCO=unforgivable, while San Fran is merely a faux pas, so I’d let it pass. “The City” might be ridiculous, but it has a nice ring to it, and it’s what I use. For American English, San Francisco is pretty long and clunky sounding, so we have to have something else to call it. “SF” is OK, I suppose.

Speaking of other places (as if they existed).

San Francisco is so much like New York.

San Jose has great bars and it’s so close!

LA seems like a really nice place to live.

Sprawling San Jose and LA spark the ire of San Franciscans generally speaking. But the lack of growth belies the major San Francisco problem: housing.

What’s that new building? Must be more affordable housing.

I just bought my own home!

Sometimes I think my apartment is TOO big.

My rent is totally reasonable.

On that note …

Move to San Francisco. There’s room for everyone.

 

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 14, 2014 in California, San Francisco, USA

 

Leave a Reply

 
